Fall in Jeollanam-do

I love fall in Korea. It is warmer, sunnier, and drier than fall in MN. It is also beautiful.  We are also 12° south of MN , and in dry season so, unfortunately, we don’t have all the amazing leaf colors MN does.  But we have lots of other colors. It is beautiful here.  You probably remember my posting about how I (Akasha) walk past a fig orchard on the way to work?  Well, they are beautiful in fall.  Green, purple, brown, they literally burst open on the trees. It is so cool.  I’ve been learning to cook with them, making fig liquor, jam, figs and pork, fig muffins, fig bread…

fig brusting in the sun

There are beautiful flowers late into the fall/ early winter.  Roses and Camillas are still blooming.  There are lots of pretty white, purple, and pink flowers. I really love the orange flowers, they kind of look like California Poppies. Another fruit all over Korea that we don’t see in MN is persimmon.  I don’t think they taste like much, but they are beautiful. We had a few typhoons late in the year and they knocked the fruit off of most of the trees along our coast, but we saw some big trees full of fruit on our road trip.  Many farmers planted them along side the orange flowers.  They are so beautiful.  I wish I could bring this scene back home. If you look carefully at the pic on the left you can see the juice running down underneath the orange persimmon.

persimmon dripping with juice

Persimmons on the river bank

Chestnuts are everywhere too. They are falling off of the trees.  Vendors roast them on the street with what looks like chickory.  It smells great, but I’m not much for the taste.  Maybe if they were salted…

Chestnuts

The markets are full of all sorts of great stuff this time of year. It is a great time to go shopping. Since you cant be here to see it, I thought I’d share some of our pictures.

A few more blogs coming up will talk about our favorite fall foods, weekend road trips, and more school stuff. We miss you guys.  We love it when you comment, it is like keeping in touch and motivates us to write more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Mokpo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall in Jeollanam-do

  1. Hi Mike and Akasha

    I am a boat builder in Maine. I am working on a project to export my boats, and those of other Maine builders, to Korea. You can see what we are up to at http://www.maineclassicboats.com. You will need to email me for a password.

    Jeollanam-do plays a big part in the project. I have people helping me in Seoul but would be interested in exploring having someone help in Jeollanam. If you have the time and interest please contact me.

    At the very least I am enjoying your blog posts and will continue to follow your adventure.

    Best to you both, Eric

    • Looks interesting. We live near Mokpo’s North Harbor and walk our dog down there often. I’ve never noticed pleasure boasts. I see lots of family business fishing boats. Folks in our apartment building are fishermen. In the morning you can see trucks delivering loads of lines and nets to women to prepare and in the evening they’ll be loading the nets and cages into the trucks again.
      It would be interesting to see pleasure boats.

Leave a Reply

